Last Year

The Walthamstow International Film Festival 2017 winners

The Walthamstow International Film Festival has announced its winners at a special screening for filmmakers at The Empire Cinema Walthamstow.

Joint 1st Place – The Wall by Mustafa Koray Polat

Joint 1st Place – ii no exito by Micaela Diangelo and Naima Mebchour

2nd Place – Mud, Sea, Sky by Ryan Powell


Category Winners


The judging panel agreed that the standard of films was very high this year and wanted to commend all of the shortlisted filmmakers.

The screening was attended by young filmmakers Tamuka Walker and Ruby Moore, Documentary director, Carol Gyasi, Experimental section winners Yannick Sanchez and Otis Tree and Documentary maker, Riyadh Haque.

The Audience will also have a vote at the performances on Saturday 23rd July at 11.00am at The Empire Walthamstow and Sunday 24th July from 11.00am to 5pm at The Vestry House Museum.

Prizes to be confirmed at a future date.

With thanks to our judging Panel and supporters

Host: Iain McLeod, Senior Film Booker at Empire Cinemas.

Barry Bliss: Independent Film maker and Director

Kate Gerova: Head of Operational Marketing, Curzon

Noel Goodwin: Head of Youth Education, BFI

Pamela Hutchinson: Editor, Silent London